Tallaghtlive.com

Title

Tallaght Ireland - Tallaght property, tallaght jobs, tallaght accommodation, tallaght dublin Ireland - IRISH GUIDE LIVE

Description

Sometime before his death in 792AD, St Mael Ruain founded a monastery - a monastery that was to become famous for a number of reasons. The Stowe Missal was written in this monastery about 800AD and numerous religious scholars travelled great distances to the Tallaght area to study. In fact, both Tallaght and Finglas were revered as centres of learning at the time and were referred to as the 'Eyes of Ireland'.

However, the monastery was soon to meet its demise - it was burned down by the Vikings in 811AD. The Church of Ireland parish of St Mael Ruain is built on the site of Mael Ruain's monastery. Commenced in 1829, it was designed by the City Architect, John Semple (1829-42) and the old church still remains with its high rectangular tower.

Today, Tallaght is the capital of the new administrative county of South Dublin. The River Poddle meanders through Tymon Park, which, with some fine water features provides cosy residence for large colonies of wildfowl. Extensive new woodland planting has enhanced a lot of fine walks in the park too. The Sean Walsh Memorial Park is another fine landscaped area, with formal ornamental gardens and a recreation area for visitors.

read more

Contact

Additional Information

Related Domains



Retrieved from "http://aboutus.com/index.php?title=Tallaghtlive.com&oldid=14251384"