Jkuat.ac.ke is the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology


JKUAT Gateway


The institution was started in 1981, as a middle level college, awarding diploma certificates in Agricultural Engineering, Food Technology, Horticulture, Civil, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering. In 1988, the then Jomo Kenyatta College became a constituent college of Kenyatta University and in 1994, it was transformed into a University through an Act of Parliament.

JKUAT's Mission is to be a leading University in Training, Research and Innovation in the fields of Agriculture, Engineering , Applied Sciences, Technology, and Enterprise Development to suit the needs of a dynamic World". The University's Vision is to become a "World-class institution for Development".

Currently, the University has three faculties and a school. The faculties' are-: Agriculture, Engineering, Science and the School of Architecture and Building Sciences. It also has various institutes and centres which offer market-driven courses. In response to changing market demands, new undergraduate programmes have been developed in various faculties to meet the challenges. The new curriculum is; Geomatic, Mechatronic and Electronics and Computer Engineering. Others are, Food Science and Nutrition, Biomechanical and Processing Engineering; Soil, Water and Environmental Engineering and Ornamental Science and Landscaping.

read more

Additional Information

Retrieved from "http://aboutus.com/index.php?title=Jkuat.ac.ke&oldid=37148571"