UIUC.edu Look around the website for University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


The University of Illinois is a system of coeducational, public universities consisting of three Illinois campuses, including its main campus in Urbana-Champaign as well as campuses in Chicago and Springfield. It was established via a land grant in 1867, opened in 1868 as the Illinois Industrial University and was renamed as the University of Illinois in 1885. It continues to receive state and federal support.

The university is governed by a 13-member Board of Trustees. The Governor of Illinois, an ex-officio board member, appoints nine of the members of the board while the remaining three are students elected by referendum from each of the campuses.

The university's main campus at Urbana-Champaign is often referred to as “UIUC” while the campus at Chicago is known as “UIC.”

More than half of the university's 70,000 students attend the Urbana-Champaign campus, which offers business, medicine and fine arts. This campus also houses the National Center for Supercomputing Applications, which gained prominence when it developed the Mosaic program that is utilized by leading Internet browsers like Netscape Navigator. The Institute for Public Affairs is located at the Springfield campus.

The University of Illinois is also known as a pioneer in vocational education. The school's two-year undergraduate program at Chicago, which started in 1946, became the Chicago Circle Campus in 1982 and, after consolidating with the Medical Center Campus, became the Univ. of Illinois at Chicago in 1982.

General Information

Located in Urbana-Champaign, Chicago and Springfield, the University of Illinois is a public university with a total endowment of US$1.787 billion, as of 2006. Its total student population is about 70,000 and has about 23,600 employees.

The university's current president is B. Joseph White.

The Three Campuses

Urbana-Champaign Campus. Of the three University of Illinois campuses, the one at Urbana-Champaign is the largest, with 16 colleges and educational units as well as the National Center for Supercomputing Applications. It was established in 1867 as the state university's flagship campus.

UIUC is renowned for its preeminence in the field of Electrical Engineering, particularly for the outstanding quality of its research. It is generally believed that one of its alumni or professors will win either the Nobel or Pulitzer Prize at least every three years. One such awardee, Physics professor John Bardeen, is a two-time Nobel Prize winner in Physics and is the only researcher to ever receive such an honor.

With over 10 million volumes, the UIUC library is considered the largest public academic library in the United States. The library is highly regarded for its wealth of knowledge in law, engineering, computer science, finance, accounting, business administration, labor and industrial relations, chemistry, educational psychology, speech communication, music and library and information science.

UIUC is also home to the Siebel Center, regarded as the most technologically advanced Computer Science building in the world.

Chicago Campus

In 1982, the modern UIC was established through the merger of two of the University of Illinois' campuses, the Medical Center campus and the Chicago Circle campus.

With over 25,000 students and 15 colleges, including the largest medical school in the United States, the University of Illinois' Chicago campus is the Chicago area's biggest university. In addition, its student body is recognized as one of the most diverse in the United States.

UIC spends over $290 million in research every year, putting it at the forefront of Illinois healthcare. The university is also the state's leading educator of physicians, nurses, dentists, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals. It also houses the leading public medical center in Illinois.

Springfield Campus

The University of Illinois at Springfield is the smallest of the school's three campuses. From 1969 to 1995, it was known as the Sangamon State University and only recently began offering four-year programs.


The University of Illinois has over 150 undergraduate programs as well as over 100 graduate and professional programs.

The university has 16 major academic units. These include the College of Business, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Communications, College of Law, College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaignm, College of Applied Health Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Fine and Applied Arts, College of Veterinary Medicine, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences, Institute of Aviation, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, School of Social Work, Graduate School and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science.

In addition, the university also has academic units in Continuing Education, International Programs and Studies and UI Online (online courses and programs).

Recent Developments

The university's symbol in athletics, the Native American figure Chief Illiniwek, was forced by controversy to retire as the school's official symbol after his final performance on February 21, 2007. On the other hand, the school's marching band, the Marching Illini, continues to enjoy an outstanding reputation.





CITES 1120 Digital Computer Laboratory, 1304 W Springfield Ave
Urbana IL 61801 US


University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
+1 217 244 0914

Additional Information

Related Domains

External Links

Retrieved from "http://aboutus.com/index.php?title=UIUC.edu&oldid=24857097"