Broxbourne Rowing Club
Broxbourne Rowing Club has been the home of rowing on the river Lea for over 150 years opening in 1847 and originally including skiffing and punting, the club has had 3 previous boathouses on the site, the last of which went the way of its predecessor in 1965 when it burned to the ground leaving the club homeless. Rowing moved to a temporary home at the Crown public house whilst a new (temporary) club was built- its 10 year intended life continuing still! The club is currently awaiting a lottery application to support an overdue replacement.
Amazingly until 1966 Broxbourne Sailing Club shared the premises and sailed on the narrow waters of the Lea before moving to gravel pits in Nazeing. Since then there has been an active river cruising section of the club with over 20 boats moored on the site.
The river Lea at Broxbourne provides the only facilities for rowing in the whole of Hertfordshire and Essex and membership is drawn from as far as Barnet, St Albans and Chelmsford. The nearest alternatives are our country cousins at Sudbury and the Wide boys at Lea. The river is fairly narrow and winding which whilst being picturesque ensures a steep learning curve for coxswains and scullers alike.